Meet the Press

policecommander

images

I know some brilliant journalists. I’m proud to count some of them as friends. And dealing with the media is an important part of my job – something, believe it or not, that I actually enjoy.

As a police officer, I have a professional responsibility to engage, to respond, to explain – and, dare I say, to offer an insight into the person behind the uniform.

But, truth be told, these are challenging times for relationships between the police and the press – with each seeming to nurse and nurture a set of grievances about the other that sets the tone for so many of our dealings.

The potential causes for this are well documented, but I don’t think anyone benefits from the current state of play: police, press or public.

The fact is that the police service needs the media:

To help us in protecting the vulnerable.

To assist us…

View original post 703 more words